Category Archives: Screenshot Monitor

Why Screenshot Monitor will always allow employees to delete their screenshots?

Screenshot Monitor allows employees to delete their screenshots and there is no option to limit that. The primary reason for this is privacy – it is important that employees have full control to delete whatever information they submit – no matter if they are in Europe or India.img003Yes, monitoring may feel intrusive and most employees would prefer to have none. But even when working on company’s computers, there should be some level of privacy guaranteed to employees. (We have talked about ethical employee monitoring in details before).

Companies can actually benefit from this. As long as employees know that they are in control of their screenshots, they will see the monitoring as fair and it will be easier for them to accept it in their work.

There may be some private information on screenshots that employees may not want to share. An employee may just have forgotten to stop the tracking while doing something personal. They can click “Delete” icon on a screenshot and it will be gone forever along with the corresponding period of time. Managers can do the same. The fact that something was deleted will be logged in “Change History” (you can find link at the bottom of every Timeline page).

We are fully aware that by allowing employees to delete the submitted data we may alienate some of the clients, but the remaining customers will be certain that they treat their employees with respect.

Adding manual/offline time and editing notes

Have you happened to forget to start Screenshot Monitor? Or did some billable work offline?

No problem. You can now add manual time to your timeline. Just click “Add offline time” at the bottom of your timeline:

and enter the details of your work:

Offline time

Furthermore, you can now edit notes or delete your activity directly on timeline. Note that your manager could do the same changes on your timeline. All of the changes are written to “History of changes” and are available through the link on the bottom of your timeline.

New reporting tool on

We have updated our reporting tool. Now it is very easy to see and export to Excel your own time or the time tracked by your employees. Select all or specific employees, use date- range shortcuts, see time sheets grouped by date or detailed and download it for further analysis or to generate invoices.

Timesheet reports

Just go to or Sign Up now if are not on ScreenshotMonitor yet.

How to use ScreenshotMonitor in an office?


ScreenshotMonitor is great for installing in an office to see where employee’s time goes. Note that you can NOT do it in secret – the employees will know that the program is running and tracking time and screenshots – and that is a good thing.

Screenshot Monitor settings in an office can be a bit different than the configuration used by a freelancer. In an office a manager may choose not to show notifications – this is set by manager on this page. And then we would recommend setting the desktop application like below:

SSM has Autostart and Autostop options – it stops automatically if they are away (for example left for lunch or at the end of the day) and will resume once they resume the work.

Read more about settings set by a manager on the web and desktop application settings set by a user in the program.