Category Archives: Screenshot Monitor

Blur all screenshots option

In Screenshot Monitor you have an option to either take the screenshots of your employee monitors or not take them. We have just added a new “Blur all [screenshots]” option that allows you to do something in between.

If “Blur all” is selected, all screenshots will be permanently blurred like below. Blurred screenshots give some idea of what the employees do while protecting their privacy and sensitive information.

To set it up go to Screenshot Settings and select “Blur all” for everyone on your team or for some of your employees only:

How to use Clients in Screenshot Monitor

If you company works on projects for multiple clients, you will appreciate the ability to create Clients, group your projects by Clients and run various reports by client. To start – go to the Clients page and add your clients:

1

Next, assign your Projects to clients. Your projects will appear grouped under the customer title like below:

2

You and your employees will have easier time identifying the Client as everywhere where you have previously seen a project name you will see “Project ● Client”

And finally on the Reports page you will see a new “Clients” drop-down allowing you to filter by clients, a Clients bar chart allowing you to visualize time spent on each customer and option to group by Client for easier report:

4

Note that if you have not added any clients, you will not see the options to assign projects to clients or any other references to clients on reports or other pages. This is done in order to keep the interface simple for our customers who do not use Clients.

Blurring screenshots

Both employee and their managers can blur the employee’s screenshots on the timeline. This is useful when some sensitive information needs to be protected, but the user would still prefer not to delete the screenshot.

To blur the screenshot, mouse over the thumbnail or the full size image and click on a Paint icon in the top right corner:

grabilla.em7000

The image is now blurred:

grabilla.Uh7244

Note that once blurred, there’s no option to restore the image to the original clear non-blurred view.

If you would like to blur all of the screenshots by default, go to Settings > Screenshots and select “Blur All” option. Then all of the captured screenshots will be blurred. This may be useful in cases when you want users to retain a greater degree of privacy while still getting enough idea of what users do. In other words this option is a middle ground between normal screenshots and not capturing screenshots at all.

Cheat application detection in Screenshot Monitor

Employees may use applications that imitate mouse movements, typing or the set of pre-programmed or pre-recorded activities with a goal of cheating time tracking. Screenshot Monitor uses a combination of heuristic analysis and extensive database of cheat applications to detect the use of such application.

When we detect it, the employer receives a “Potential cheat application detected” email where we say that a particular user has used such application with a link to the app. Then it is up to the employer to decide if the use was justified or indeed it was used to cheat the time tracking. We will send this email once a day when we detect the use of such application.

Here are a few examples of such applications:

Auto Mouse Click

Automatically initiates mouse clicks. murgee.com/auto-mouse-click/

auto-mouse-click

Clicker

CLICKER is a robot design for automated mouse clicking and keyboard writing. clicker1.com

clicker_screens

Apps & URLs report

If you use App & URL tracking in Screenshot Monitor, there’s a couple of extra features that we’ve just added:

On the timeline you can now see the name of the application the user was running when the screenshot was taken (like Adobe Photoshop or Sublime Text in the example below):

grabilla.Uh9476

And in the Reports you have a new tab Apps & URLs that summarizes what was used the most for the currently selected employees:grabilla.Uh9596

Note that Apps & URL tracking is available on Professional Plan only.

Why you may need user Groups

If your team is small – it is perfectly fine to manage each team member individually. But once your team grows to more than 5-10 members, they are easier to handle as separate groups. For example you can create groups “Designers”, “Programmers” or “Marketing”.

You can create group on the Team page:
Image001

Then you can run report for a Group instead of selecting each person individually:
Image003

ScreenshotMonitor browser extensions

If you are a manager and you are using Chrome or Firefox as your browser – these’s no need to go to ScreenshotMonitor.com just to see who is working on what any more. Install ScreenshotMonitor Chrome extension or ScreenshotMonitor Firefox extension  and it will add a button to your browser like below:extension

The number on the button shows how many employees are currently active. And if you click it, it will show all of your employees, who is currently active, when they have worked last, what project and the task.

New desktop app features

We have a new version of the employee desktop application that we hope you will like.

1. Previous tasks

In the list of the tasks we now show not only today’s tasks, but the tasks from the previous days (see below in grey). This gives users the option to select this task again with a single click. Users can also see the summary of hours for the previous day without going to the web.screen2

Continue reading