Monthly Archives: April 2017

Blurring screenshots

Both employee and their managers can blur the employee’s screenshots on the timeline. This is useful when some sensitive information needs to be protected, but the user would still prefer not to delete the screenshot.

To blur the screenshot, mouse over the thumbnail or the full size image and click on a Paint icon in the top right corner:

grabilla.em7000

The image is now blurred:

grabilla.Uh7244

Note that once blurred, there’s no option to restore the image to the original clear non-blurred view.

If you would like to blur all of the screenshots by default, go to Settings > Screenshots and select “Blur All” option. Then all of the captured screenshots will be blurred. This may be useful in cases when you want users to retain a greater degree of privacy while still getting enough idea of what users do. In other words this option is a middle ground between normal screenshots and not capturing screenshots at all.

Cheat application detection in Screenshot Monitor

Employees may use applications that imitate mouse movements, typing or the set of pre-programmed or pre-recorded activities with a goal of cheating time tracking. Screenshot Monitor uses a combination of heuristic analysis and extensive database of cheat applications to detect the use of such application.

When we detect it, the employer receives a “Potential cheat application detected” email where we say that a particular user has used such application with a link to the app. Then it is up to the employer to decide if the use was justified or indeed it was used to cheat the time tracking. We will send this email once a day when we detect the use of such application.

Here are a few examples of such applications:

Auto Mouse Click

Automatically initiates mouse clicks. murgee.com/auto-mouse-click/

auto-mouse-click

Clicker

CLICKER is a robot design for automated mouse clicking and keyboard writing. clicker1.com

clicker_screens

Apps & URLs report

If you use App & URL tracking in Screenshot Monitor, there’s a couple of extra features that we’ve just added:

On the timeline you can now see the name of the application the user was running when the screenshot was taken (like Adobe Photoshop or Sublime Text in the example below):

grabilla.Uh9476

And in the Reports you have a new tab Apps & URLs that summarizes what was used the most for the currently selected employees:grabilla.Uh9596

Note that Apps & URL tracking is available on Professional Plan only.