Monthly Archives: February 2014

Why Screenshot Monitor will always allow employees to delete their screenshots?

Screenshot Monitor allows employees to delete their screenshots and there is no option to limit that. The primary reason for this is privacy – it is important that employees have full control to delete whatever information they submit – no matter if they are in Europe or India.img003Yes, monitoring may feel intrusive and most employees would prefer to have none. But even when working on company’s computers, there should be some level of privacy guaranteed to employees. (We have talked about ethical employee monitoring in details before).

Companies can actually benefit from this. As long as employees know that they are in control of their screenshots, they will see the monitoring as fair and it will be easier for them to accept it in their work.

There may be some private information on screenshots that employees may not want to share. An employee may just have forgotten to stop the tracking while doing something personal. They can click “Delete” icon on a screenshot and it will be gone forever along with the corresponding period of time. Managers can do the same. The fact that something was deleted will be logged in “Change History” (you can find link at the bottom of every Timeline page).

We are fully aware that by allowing employees to delete the submitted data we may alienate some of the clients, but the remaining customers will be certain that they treat their employees with respect.